Where Larry took Dani

MLK Day is one of the only holidays I get off of work( I think my next day off is in May X_x) so I really wanted to take advantage of it. The bf and I had to run some errands downtown so we hoped on an E and down we went.


Downtown Manhattan is actually one of my favorite areas( I also work there). It is very underrated! They have great running trails that start at the base, fantastic restaurants, and shopping galore. I am going to write a full review on what to do downtown soon, I promise.


“Betcha you don’t have a street named after ya!”

So after Larry and I got all our boring work related errands finished we searched for a place to eat. Larry was really craving a deli sandwich and when he asked me where we could get one downtown I told him a couple places….which he vetoed and suggested we go to Katz’s Deli in the Lower East Side instead.


Katz’s Deli is pretty much a New York staple. Located at the corner of Ludlow and Houston(pronounced House-ton not Houston) you will find the Mount Everest of Deli Sandwiches. Katz’s, fun facts of the day, is not only the oldest Deli in NYC, but also where Harry met Sally!


“Where Larry took Dani!”

And also where Adam Richmond ate the monstrous Pastrami Sandwich on Man vs. Food.


I have never eaten here so I was excited to try my first Katz’s Sandwhich. First thing first, this place is always crowded! We came at 3 p.m. and it was packed, but if you decide to get your food the cafeteria way you will get your food very quickly!


I decided to go for the classic Ruban! Which was about 5 sandwich’s worth of meat. My bf got a duo with corn beef and brisket and we split melt in your mouth fries( gotta be bad sometimes)


My Ruban was delish! Soft and chewy corn beef, fresh rye bread, not too much thousand island dressing…all in all the perfect sandwich.


The owner even came around to everyone’s table to chat. It’s always nice to see the owner/manager talk to his customers. He really doesn’t have to do that as he place makes a fortune!

After I finished half of my sandwich and my boyfriend finished his and my other half I really wanted something sweet.


We headed directly to il laboratororio del gelato for some ice cream.


It’s a great lil ice cream place if you are in the LES, but be careful, they are cash only. Larry thought I was crazy eating ice cream in 15 degree weather, but I am one of those people that would eat ice cream even if it was in the negatives!

Are you an ice cream at any temperature kind of person?

xoxo,
Dani

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where Larry took Dani

  1. Stephy says:

    I am an ice cream anywhere-anytime kinda person. I am all caught up on your blog! Katz’s looks fun. I want to go!

  2. I’ve been meaning to try the gelato place.. it’s in “The Ludlow” apartment building right? I live so close, I have no excuse!

    Btw-so jealous you got monday off!

Leave a Reply

