A 13.1 Comeback

Ohhhhhhh running…..my biggest foe and my greatest love(next to my bf, family, friends, and dog). I have had a love/hate relationship with running since I was 10 and had to do that 400m run for the Presidential Physical Fitness Test in 4th grade( I won all 3 badges thank you :) ). Sadly over time I have felt myself get slower and slower.

BUT….it’s time for a change. It’s 2011, Year of the Fitness! I have already signed up for Credit Union Cherry Blossom 10 Mile Run with 4 of my favorite gals: Val, Erin, Steph, and Kim.


I did the Cherry Blossom Run with Val and Erin last year and we had a great time. Erin and I ran practically the whole thing together, and Val I saw for the first 3 minutes before she took off. I highly recommend it for new runners who want to take running seriously. The only problem I had with it was…..no blossoms! So hopefully this year we will see some blossoms and I will finish with a 8:45 pace :D. Dream big ya know!


We are making it a girls weekend so hopefully we will arrive on Thursday and spend the long weekend having loads of fun in DC. The most exciting part is that on Thursday, April 1st I will complete day 90 of P90X. It’s going to be a big weekend for moi!

Now….here is the real challenge. How am I going to survive P90X and get in good enough running shape so I don’t end up like this:


On death’s bed with gummy bears as my only lifetime. Yes, this was me after the Rock N’ Roll Philly 1/2 Marathon. I didn’t train, I didn’t give it my all, I didn’t succeed, and this was the result: DISASTER.


“Happier Times before the race in October 2010′”

I plan on incorporating 3-4 additional runs a week on top of my P90X workouts. It’s going to push me further then I have been for a while, but I have to say these past 2+ weeks withP90X has made me happier and frankly healthy then I have been for long time!

In addition to the Cherry Blossom runs I have discovered some more runs that I potentially want to complete. Of corse doing a 1/2 marathon a month is a little crazy, but having options is always better then having none. So here we go:


Rutgers’ UNITE half marathon on 4/17. With NJ Transit pretty much next door that takes you directly to East Brunswick it may be the perfect companion to the Cherry Blossom Race.


Long Island Half Marathon on 5/1. I originally wanted to do The Broad Street Run in Philly, but that sold out in 4 days. So option B anyone?


13.1 in Chicago on 6/4. I have been wanting to run a half marathon with my big sis for a while now. She’s a speed demon but wouldn’t it be the best birthday present( birthday is on 6/7) to beat her!


WildHalf on 8/28 because nothing ends summer like the Jersey Shore :)


And finally the Rock n’ Roll Philly half the sequel. I will have revenge!!!!

Are there any race’s that you want/have sign up for?

Now onto important things…like fixing my bed…that broke…..


I blame him:

Until next time.

xoxo,
Dani

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A 13.1 Comeback

  1. Erin says:

    Yay cherry blossom! the training plan starts today… i was looking at the runs for the week and was like psh i got this

  2. Dee says:

    Good luck on all of your goals! Major props to you and your girls for dreaming big! :)

  3. Hooray for racing! It’s always so motivating to get some on the calendar – you’ll do great :) I’ve always wanted to run the Cherry Blossom 10-miler – maybe next year.

Leave a Reply

